top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmber Jade Lily

Koala finger Puppet

Updated: Aug 24, 2018


Sooooo........ I have spent a lot of time deliberating on what my first post should be. Should I keep it simple and post about one of the many designers patterns I have been following? Or should I start with something more 'me'?


In the end, I've gone with more 'me' and a Koala finger puppet (being I am from Australia and all that)!


A little while ago a friend asked me to make her some finger puppets for her little one. I did a bit of an internet search and while I found many beautiful designs I ended up just sitting down and seeing where my imagination and crochet hook sent me.


Below are the first few creations I sent to my friend.... but of course, I didn't write anything down (as that would be something sensible to do)!


But I enjoyed making these little creations as they are quick and easy and used up my scraps of cotton. So, I decided to trial a few more, starting with the Koala. Following is the #crochetpattern I used. It's my first foray into pattern writing, so if you give it a go and find any errors, don't be afraid to let me know!


Happy creating...


Koala finger puppet

Supplies:

  • 2.25mm crochet hook

  • 8 ply 100% Cotton (I have used 4 seasons flinders cotton)

* grey

* white

* black

(As you don't need much of any colour, I used scraps left over from other projects)

  • 6mm eyes

  • Polyester fiberfill

  • Embroidery needle

  • Scissors

Abbreviations:

I have used the US terminology for this post. If you use the UK definitions remember a US single crohet (sc) = a UK double crochet (dc). (If all else fails - its the smallest stitch!)


sl st = slip stitch

ch = chain

sc = single crochet (dc if using UK terms)

sc2tog = single crochet two stitches together (decreasing stitch)


Instructions:

I have worked in the round for this pattern so it's a good idea to use a stitch maker in the first stitch of every round - however, if you prefer to slip stitch at the end of each row and do 1 chain to start the next, the project will still work exactly the same. (N.B. when doing the zebra and tiger I used the slip stitch method)


Head and Body

This is the same for all finger puppets

Round 1: Work 6 sc into a magic ring (6)

Round 2: 2sc into each stitch around (12)

Round 3: *1sc into next stitch, 2sc into next stitch* repeat around (18)

Round 4: *1sc into the next 2 stitches, 2sc into next stitch* repeat around (24)

Round 5-8: sc into each stitch around (24)

Round 9: *1sc into next 2 stitches, sc2tog* repeat around (18)

Round 10: *1sc into next stitch, sc2tog* repeat around (12)

Now is a good time to insert the eyes between rows 7 and 8 and about 4 stitches apart

Stuff the head with fiberfill


Round 11: sc2tog around (6)

Round 12: 2 sc into each stitch around (12)

Round 13: *1sc into next stitch, 2 sc into next stitch* repeat around (18)

Round 14- 22: sc into each stitch around (18)

Round 23: *sc in next stitch, sc2tog* repeat around (12)

This last row, brings the bottom of the finger puppet in making it a more snug fit and less likely to fall off when in use! - Also great for smaller fingers.


Ears

Round 1: (in grey) work 6sc into a magic ring (6)

Round 2: (in white) 2sc into each stitch (12)

Sew to head approximately around row 3 and 6-8 stitches apart


Nose

Round 1: (in black) work 6sc into a magic ring (6)

Sew to face between eyes


Arms

Round 1: Work 6 sc into a magic ring (6)

Round 2: 2sc into each stitch around (12)

Round 3: sc around (12)

Round 4: sc2tog (6)

Round 5 -9 sc in around (6)

Sew to sides of body close to row 12


Hopefully you now have a completed #koalafingerpuppet! if you would like to see more of what I am doing you can follow me on instagram: www.instagram.com/amberjadelilycrochet


If you would like to see some more finger puppets, comment and let me know! (I am currently tweaking the details for a kangaroo). You can also get creative and use the basic head and body pattern to go wild and #createyourown!









94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page